May 25, 2010


breakfast: coffee with soy milk from Marvelous Market; banana; everything bagel with Trader Joe’s organic original hummus (yum)

Lunch: a lot of cashews, an apple and frozen mixed vegetables (carrots, corn, green beans)

pre-dinner snack: turtle mountain’s purely decadent cookie avalanche ice cream

Dinner with Eva, Shelley and Nate: mushroom risotto with arugula and saffron. arugula salad with pan roasted radishes, strawberries tossed with homemade lemon vinaigrette

dessert: kettle salt and pepper chips

drink: magic hat #9 (see company responses about vegan products)

another beer response:

Brooklyn Brewery (vegan except for the brewmaster’s reserve- brooklyn buzz bomb!)

Hello Stacey,

Thank you for contacting the Brooklyn Brewery.

All of our 12 ounce bottles are vegan friendly, and do not use any of the ingredients you have mentioned. Although our website states that our cask conditioned beers use isinglass, this is no longer true. Only our new Brewmaster’s Reserve, the Brooklyn Buzz Bomb, uses honey and is not vegan.

None of our beers are 100% gluten free.

We hope this information is helpful!


Dan D’Ippolito

Communications Coordinator

Brooklyn Brewery

Twitter @BrooklynBrewery


From: stacey litner []
Sent: Monday, May 24, 2010 10:33 AM
To: Dan D’Ippolito
Subject: Question about your beer


I am wondering if your beers are vegan.  I do not use any ingredients derived from an animal including gelatin, milk, honey, whey, casein, isinglass, etc. I am interested both in the filtration process and in the ingredients that go into the beer itself. Thank you for your help.


No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment